CORTLAND — This year’s section title felt much different for Poland.

Behind a four-goal performance by senior Riley Wisheart, Poland’s top-seeded and state-ranked No. 1 Tornadoes won their fourth straight Section III Class D girls soccer title with a 4-1 win over third-seeded Copenhagen Friday night at SUNY Cortland.

The Poland (20-0-0) players said it was a much sweeter result than last year’s final, when the Tornadoes shared the crown before Cincinnatus advanced on penalty kicks.

— Maybe: Marquel (@OD_Slaughter)November 2, 2019

"It was good to win last year, but it didn’t feel right because we wanted to move on," said Poland senior Leah Basel, the team’s sportsmanship award winner. "I’m really happy with the win today for sure."

"It feels good to be in this position again," said Poland senior goalkeeper Emily Schrader, who was the Golden Glove award winner with five saves after posting the team’s 13th shutout.

In the Class B final, senior Reilly Rich had a goal and an assist to lead Central Valley Academy to its first title, helping the top-seeded and state-ranked No. 5 Thunder (19-1-0) defeat third-seeded Westhill 3-1.

Claire Schoff's assist to Megan Canipe stretched the Thunder's lead to two late in the game.

CVA’s Camryn Stone won sportsmanship award honors. Rich was named MVP of the contest, and Cierra Doolen won Golden Glove honors with four saves.

"This team is the closest team I’ve ever played with," said Rich, who pushed her career total to 148 goals with 39 on the season. "We just have a bond like I’ve never had with any other team before."

"It’s so surreal being the first team … to bring home a sectional banner," Gillette said. "It’s something we’ve worked on all season."

The Thunder will play the Section VII champion Northeast Clinton - a 1-0 winner over Beekmantown - in the New York State Public High School Athletic Association (NYSPHSAA) region semifinal at 5 p.m. Tuesday at Herkimer County Community College in Herkimer.

Lauren Holstein scored the lone goal for state-ranked No. 10 Westhill (16-2-1).

In the Class C final, Little Falls and Waterville shared the title after triple overtime wasn't enough to break a 1-1 tie, but Little Falls advanced 5-4 on penalty kicks.

Champions for the fourth straight season, the Mounties will play the Section IV champion - Unatego plays Elmira Notre Dame on Saturday - in the NYSPHSAA region final at noon Saturday, Nov. 9 at Norwich High School.

Sophomore Olivia Lindsay - named the Mounties' MVP - gave Little Falls a 1-0 lead in the 13th minute, scoring off of a header from junior Gabby Sylstra on the other end of sportsmanship award winner Caileigh Barnett free kick to give the second-seeded and state-ranked No. 9 Mounties (17-2-1).

Waterville MVP Brianne Barnes tied it at 1 in the second half. Top-seeded and state-ranked No. 6 Waterville (16-0-1).

Waterville junior Megan Wittenbeck earned her team's sportsmanship award.

As for Poland, the Tornadoes will play Saturday’s Marathon-Cherry Valley Springfield winner in the NYSPHSAA region final at 2:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 9 at Norwich High School.

Poland – which won the program’s 10th title – improved to 38-0-1 in its last 39 contests, last losing in the 2017 state championship game to Section V power Wheatland-Chili.

Basel had two assists in the win. She’s made quite the connection with Wisheart – who netted one of her goals on a penalty kick – throughout their high school career.

"We always know where each other’s going to be," said Wisheart, who scored her first three goals in the game’s first 26 minutes. "When we look at each other, I just know where to go."

Poland's Lexi Bates also had an assist.

Sophomore Raegan Dalrymple scored the lone goal for Copenhagen (16-1-3).

Local Section III all-stars

Class A: Allison Falvo, Abby Fletcher and Anna Rayhill from New Hartford; and Whitesboro’s Grace Stuhlman and Madison Wisheart.

Class B: CVA’s Gillette, Stone and Rich; Clinton’s Kaitlyn Williams and Madison Luke; Gwen Williams; Holland Patent’s Sam Rachon; Vernon-Verona-Sherrill’s Laiken Kiser.

Class C: Little Falls’ Sylstra, Shayna Straney and Caileigh Barnett; Waterville’s Barnes; Dolgeville’s Emma Bilinski and Rylee Lamphere; Frankfort-Schuyler’s Hailey Traut; Sauquoit Valley’s Alyssa Sheperd; Westmoreland’s Mary Muller; Cooperstown’s Kate Donnelly and Ashley Kiuber.

Class D: Poland’s Riley Wisheart and Leah Basel; Remsen’s Maddy McCormack and Kendall Decker; Brookfield’s Jenna Bugbee.