HAMILTON – Matt Langel, coach of the Colgate men’s basketball program, was recently voted by his peers as the 2018 Patriot League Coach of the Year, while four Raiders collected All-Patriot League honors.

Langel guided a Colgate team that was picked to finish fifth in the Patriot League to a second-place finish and No. 2 seed in the Patriot League Tournament where they fell to Bucknell in the championship game. The second-place result is Colgate’s best since the 2014-15 squad also finished second, and tied for the highest finish since the 1995-96 team won the regular-season title. The Raiders completed the season with 19 wins overall.

Colgate finished the regular season 11-3 at Cotterell Court under Langel’s guidance, tying a Cotterell Court record for wins in a season. It marked the most home wins in 23 years.

Langel becomes just the second Colgate coach to earn men’s basketball Patriot League Coach of the Year honors and the first since 1996. Jack Bruen collected Coach of the Year nods in both 1992 and 1996.

Sophomore Will Rayman also earned second team All-League honors. Seniors Sean O’Brien and Jordan Swopshire garnered third team accolades, while first-year Jordan Burns was named to the Patriot League All-Rookie team.

Colgate’s four selections to the All-Patriot League teams mark a program record.