Three area residents are among the select group of students who have reserved places at SUNY Oswego for fall 2016 and awarded Presidential Scholarships by the college.

The scholarships are $18,800 over four years - $4,700 a year - for students residing on campus. Off-campus Presidential Scholarships are $2,350 a year.

Local recipients are Jasmine X. Pitzrick of Cazenovia, a freshman majoring in psychology; Vincent Q. Dinh, Deansboro, a sophomore majoring in software engineering; and Rohne M. Nyberg, Oriskany Falls, a junior majoring in biology.

Scott Bodnar, of Hamilton, an electrical and computer engineering major; and Bailey Forret, Erieville, majoring in accounting, have also been named Merit Scholarship recipients. The awards are $3,000 over four years.

SUNY Oswego honored more than 850 incoming students -- freshmen and transfers -- with merit scholarships. First-year students who have completed the strongest academic programs with the highest grade averages and standardized test scores are invited to become Presidential Scholars.

The awards are part of about $5 million in merit scholarship money offered at SUNY Oswego. These funds are in addition to the more than $80 million in need-based grants, loans, work-study and scholarship awards that SUNY Oswego students receive annually.